Divisional information
Divisional troops
Command Posts

Divisional information Top

25.02.1921 Activated as Hawaiian Division
26.08.1941 Redesignated as 24th Infantry Division

Individual Awards


Commanding General (CG)
00.10.1941 Maj.-Gen. Durward S. Wilson
00.08.1942 Maj.-Gen. Frederick A. Irving
00.11.1944 Maj.-Gen. Roscoe B. Woodruff
00.11.1945-00.12.1945 Brig.-Gen. Kenneth F. Cramer

Divisional troops Top


19th Infantry Regiment Entire War
21st Infantry Regiment Entire War
34th Infantry Regiment 12.06.1943-End of War
299th Infantry Regiment 01.10.1941-21.07.1942

Field Artillery (FA)

Headquarters & Headquarters Battery 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
11th FA Battalion (155mm Howitzer) 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
13th FA Battalion (105mm Howitzer) 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
52nd FA Battalion (105mm Howitzer) 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
63rd FA Battalion (105mm Howitzer) 00.00.0000-00.00.0000

Other troops

Headquarters & Headquarters Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
Headquarters Special Troops 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
3rd Engineer Combat Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
24th Counter-Intelligence Corps Detachment 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
24th Mechanized Cavalry Reconnaissance Troop 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
24th Medical Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
24th Quartermaster Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
24th Signal Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
724th Ordnance Light Maintenance Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
Military Police Platoon 00.00.0000-00.00.0000

Sources & links: US Army Center of Military History
  History of Infantry
  HyperWar: World War II on the World Wide Web
  24th Victory Infantry Division Association
  US Army in WWII
Site design & initiative: Hans Houterman
Site created by: Jeroen Koppes
Thanks to: Leo van Bussel (from Holland)
Last update: 04.06.2003
Design notes: CSS - ASP - modules