Divisional information
Divisional troops

Divisional information

Activated 25.02.1943

Days in Combat 204

Individual Awards


Commanding General (CG)
25.02.1943-00.02.1946 Maj.-Gen. Joseph M. Swing

Assistant Division Commander
00.00.0000 Brig.-Gen. Albert Pierson

Artillery Commander
00.00.0000 Brig.-Gen. Wyburn D. Brown

Chief of Staff
00.00.0000 Col. Francis W. Farrell

Assistant Chief of Staff G-1
00.00.0000 Lt.-Col. James W. Smyly (Jr.)

Assistant Chief of Staff G-2
00.00.0000 Maj. Clifford L. Dier

Assistant Chief of Staff G-3
00.00.0000 Maj. Robert A. Ports

Assistant Chief of Staff G-4
00.00.0000 Lt.-Col. Glenn A. Ross

Divisional troops


511th Parachute Infantry Regiment 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
- CO: Col. Orin D. Haugen 00.01.1943-00.02.1945
- CO: Lt.-Col. Edward Lahti 00.02.1945-00.08.1947
187th Glider Infantry Regiment 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
188th Glider Infantry Regiment 00.00.0000-00.00.0000

Field Artillery (FA)
HQ Divisional Artillery 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
457th Parachute FA Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
674th Glider FA Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
675th Glider FA Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000

Other troops
127th Airborne Engineer Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
711th Airborne Ordinance Maintenance Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
408th Airborne Quartermaster Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
511th Airborne Signal Company
221st Airborne Medical Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
152d Airborne Antiaircraft Battalion 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
HQ Company 00.00.0000-00.00.0000
Military Police Platoon 00.00.0000-00.00.0000

Sources & links: US Army in WWII
  11th Airborne Division
  World War II Oral History,WWII Paratroopers
  US Army Center of Military History
Site design & initiative: Hans Houterman
Site created by: Jeroen Koppes
Last update: 12.04.2002
Design notes: CSS - ASP - modules